Atari Music Network | Chiptune & MIDI Music

Please, recommend a good synth

Re: Please, recommend a good synth

Postby mal7921 » Fri Jan 28, 2011 2:31 pm

atarisince1989 wrote:hmmm... used by Jan Hammer and Vangelis... two of my favorites :)

I've seen that there is a software version: http://www.korg.com/LegacyWAVESTATION


I have that on my MacBook Pro, every bit as good as the Wavestation SR plus some extra patches as well.One of the few software emulations I would say is as good as the genuine article.
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm, STacy, Mega ST2
Atari STe, Mega STE, ST Book
Atari TT030, with 2GB Hard drive
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive
Atari Megafile 44

The website and the Atari bit
User avatar
mal7921
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:44 am
Location: Huddersfield, U.K.

Re: Please, recommend a good synth

Postby NCGM » Sun Jan 30, 2011 8:05 pm

Maybe the site you were thinking of is http://www.synthmania.com/

The person who runs this site uploads mp3 files of him playing every preset of each synth, and then leaves descriptive comments of each one. He also usually includes the factory demos and basic spec.

Other good sites with demos, videos and spec etc are:

http://www.vintagesynth.com/

Don't bother using the TimeLine part of the site, just click on Synthesisers and choose your manufacturer and model.

I agree with Malcolm about older synths being more interesting and unique, plus less clean and clinical sounding. I still keep my old Kawai K1r and Yamaha SY55 + TG55 for this reason, along with other similar vintage stuff.


NCGM :)
NCGM
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 12:02 pm
Location: Bradford, U.K.

Re: Please, recommend a good synth

Postby Spadz » Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:32 pm

I agree as I ONLY have hardware synths. Can't stand the soft ones.

Vintage Synth explorer site has good description, but I understand it's not so obvious to make a choice.

You need to set a budget first. For example, I have an almost new Prophet 600 which runs for about 1400$ CAN right now. Real analogue and sounds great. Then I got a Casio CZ-1000 for 75$ and it has become one of my favorite synths (it's just plain fun and the sound really stands out of everything else).
I also have several models of samplers, from 12bit to 16bit. They all have there features, character and quirks! Love'em all.
I have a Wavestation EX, and I wouldn't recommend such a synth as sole sound source. If it's your first, I agree with Proteus line, or any E-MU Proteus type synth. E-Mu has this way of making amazing filters and these sound really deep and warm for digital synths. I have from them the Audity 2000 v1 and there E4 E-Synth monster sampler and, of all the stuff I have, the E-Synth will never leave me. I could sell everything but that one (the sound is comparable with the Proteus, which is all based on E4 technology).

I could go on and one... AND, going back at using an Atari for MIDI (with Notator), I rediscovered the pleasure of making music (yeah, I dumped $$$ in all versions of Cubase since Sx1, which I dumped for Notator and Reaper on PC).

Anyways... I'm really passionate (since the beginning of the 80's, the Korg Polysix being my first love). Don't hesitate to ask any questions.

Have a nice time playing music!
Spadz

MegaST4,STacy 2, Notator SL 3.51/Unitor 2.
several Synths, guitars, stuff and a PC/Reaper/E-mu 1820m "recorder".
User avatar
Spadz
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 4:32 am
Location: Canada

Re: Please, recommend a good synth

Postby atarisince1989 » Tue Feb 01, 2011 4:11 pm

Thanks NCGM. I'll have a look as soon as I arrive at home.

Spadz wrote:I could go on and one... AND, going back at using an Atari for MIDI (with Notator), I rediscovered the pleasure of making music (yeah, I dumped $$$ in all versions of Cubase since Sx1, which I dumped for Notator and Reaper on PC).


Never used Notator. Do you recommend to switch from Cubase to Notator? Some people say is easy to use, but after some years with Cubase, I kind of mastered it.
My toys:
- Atari 520 STE 4MB RAM TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 (running SpareMiNT+TeraDesk) 14MB RAM TOS 4.04 + 4GB Microdrive & external CF slot + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
User avatar
atarisince1989
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 3:38 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: Please, recommend a good synth

Postby Spadz » Tue Feb 01, 2011 4:24 pm

I wouldn't compare Cubase on Atari to Cubase on PC.
I used Cubase 1 and 2 at the time in the 80's. I started using Notator on Atari only a year ago. I'd say that there are some things I miss from Cubase but I wouldn't go back.

I was referring to Cubase on PC. Great interface and all, but bloated as my mother in law's butt. It has become unusable for me, as I don't want to buy a new PC everything I get the new version. I stopped at Cubase 4, which added a feature like Notator SL... Running 16 tracks with a few plugins was killing my PC. Then I tried * Reaper, and while it isn't perfect, I could run more then double the track count. It's very lightweight, and the forum is very active. The license is around 60$. A joke compared to Cubase and others. You get a lot of software for 60$.

But Notator or Cubase on Atari kills anything on the market for MIDI, specially the timing.

I sync Notator to Reaper using SMPTE. I'm not sure how to sync with Cubase. I would guess MTC would do the trick.

Cubase or Notator on Atari, which ever you prefer, is great on Atari.
Spadz

MegaST4,STacy 2, Notator SL 3.51/Unitor 2.
several Synths, guitars, stuff and a PC/Reaper/E-mu 1820m "recorder".
User avatar
Spadz
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 4:32 am
Location: Canada

Re: Please, recommend a good synth

Postby mal7921 » Tue Feb 01, 2011 5:47 pm

I have to admit that since going back to the Atari side, I have 2 setups, Cubase Audio on the Falcon and Logic on the TT. Logic is pretty amazing in TT High Resolution, and Cubase probably will be too, once I get my dongle back from Simbo that is...

One thing in Logic/Notators favour is that the dongle is incorporated into the LOG-3 interface, so you get 3 individual MIDI outs and a mirrired MIDI out into the bargain, mich better than the useless lump you get hanging with Cubase (Regardless of your platform)
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm, STacy, Mega ST2
Atari STe, Mega STE, ST Book
Atari TT030, with 2GB Hard drive
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive
Atari Megafile 44

The website and the Atari bit
User avatar
mal7921
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:44 am
Location: Huddersfield, U.K.

Re: Please, recommend a good synth

Postby Spadz » Tue Feb 01, 2011 5:52 pm

I have the Unitor 2, so you need to plug in the Notator dongle...
The important thing is that it works every friken time. I couldn't say the same runnin Cubase 4 on the PC...
Spadz

MegaST4,STacy 2, Notator SL 3.51/Unitor 2.
several Synths, guitars, stuff and a PC/Reaper/E-mu 1820m "recorder".
User avatar
Spadz
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 4:32 am
Location: Canada

Re: Please, recommend a good synth

Postby mal7921 » Wed Feb 02, 2011 9:19 am

Cubase 4 didn't get stable until the 4.5 patch, but sadly I couldn't delve any further into it as my laptop with dongle and all my work was stolen in a burglary. Insurance said Steinberg should replace the license, Steinberg said it was up to me to have insurance and I was not going to pay out for a new copy of something I already legally owned, so I went to Logic Studio.

I have a backup of all my old work sat on the Mac, but can't access it as I no longer have Cubase on the Mac or PC. I keep meaning to look on ebay for an old copy or borrow a dongle and disk from a friend to load everything up and transfere it to another format (Like MIDI files and OMF) but never get the time at the moment.

One day...
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm, STacy, Mega ST2
Atari STe, Mega STE, ST Book
Atari TT030, with 2GB Hard drive
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive
Atari Megafile 44

The website and the Atari bit
User avatar
mal7921
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:44 am
Location: Huddersfield, U.K.

Re: Please, recommend a good synth

Postby Spadz » Wed Feb 02, 2011 3:03 pm

I was about to switch to Logic. But I had seen lots of people talking about reaper, and since it can be downloaded and is fully functional, I gave it a try. It's definitely worth it.
I find MIDI editing is so so and not comparable to Cubase, but for audio it's great. Since I use the Atari for MIDI, I don't care much about that part.
Spadz

MegaST4,STacy 2, Notator SL 3.51/Unitor 2.
several Synths, guitars, stuff and a PC/Reaper/E-mu 1820m "recorder".
User avatar
Spadz
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 4:32 am
Location: Canada

Re: Please, recommend a good synth

Postby xfalcon » Wed Feb 02, 2011 9:27 pm

https://soundcloud.com/xfalcon-dma - Songs - Sounds - Beats
Falcon 030 14 MB +Dayna Port::MegaSt4 +Hydra, Overscan & UltraSatanDisk
User avatar
xfalcon
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 10:46 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Please, recommend a good synth

Postby Spadz » Wed Feb 02, 2011 9:40 pm

Makes me wish I had a Falcon...
Spadz

MegaST4,STacy 2, Notator SL 3.51/Unitor 2.
several Synths, guitars, stuff and a PC/Reaper/E-mu 1820m "recorder".
User avatar
Spadz
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 4:32 am
Location: Canada

Re: Please, recommend a good synth

Postby atarisince1989 » Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:12 pm


I have it on my Falcon, but hadn't time to play too much. So far I couldn't get any sound from it.
My toys:
- Atari 520 STE 4MB RAM TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 (running SpareMiNT+TeraDesk) 14MB RAM TOS 4.04 + 4GB Microdrive & external CF slot + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
User avatar
atarisince1989
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 3:38 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: Please, recommend a good synth

Postby mal7921 » Thu Feb 03, 2011 4:43 pm

atarisince1989 wrote:

I have it on my Falcon, but hadn't time to play too much. So far I couldn't get any sound from it.


Same here, though I only loaded it to make sure it was working and then only for 2 minutes before testing another bit of software.

Once I get my other VGA adapter back (Or replaced) I'll have both Falcons running and will have a proper play.
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm, STacy, Mega ST2
Atari STe, Mega STE, ST Book
Atari TT030, with 2GB Hard drive
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive
Atari Megafile 44

The website and the Atari bit
User avatar
mal7921
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:44 am
Location: Huddersfield, U.K.

Re: Please, recommend a good synth

Postby NCGM » Thu Feb 03, 2011 6:04 pm

I wonder if there is a way of synchronising two Falcons together, maybe via SCSI to achieve 16 lossless audio tracks with Cubase? I know you could MIDI sync them via MTC, but I wonder if you could control all 16 tracks from one monitor page?

Don't mind me, I am just throwing questions in the air out of curiosity!



NCGM :)
NCGM
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 12:02 pm
Location: Bradford, U.K.

Re: Please, recommend a good synth

Postby mal7921 » Thu Feb 03, 2011 9:55 pm

Well, I can't actually see how it would be done as each track would have to be controlled from its own mixer. The theory is good but I fear the practice is another matter.

They could be syncronised with a SMPTE reader and a MIDI splitter or MTC as you suggested, with 2 MidiMAn LAN port interfaces the onboard in and out could still be used for 'normal' MIDI duties
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm, STacy, Mega ST2
Atari STe, Mega STE, ST Book
Atari TT030, with 2GB Hard drive
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive
Atari Megafile 44

The website and the Atari bit
User avatar
mal7921
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:44 am
Location: Huddersfield, U.K.

PreviousNext

Return to Synths, Samplers, SysEx & Sounds

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron