Atari Music Network | Chiptune & MIDI Music

CUBASE AUDIO FALCON - OFFLINE MENU - FADE OUT FUNCTION

CUBASE AUDIO FALCON - OFFLINE MENU - FADE OUT FUNCTION

Postby doyeuxyvan » Tue Apr 10, 2012 6:36 pm

Hi,

I'm using Cubase Audio 2.06 on my Atari Falcon 030. I've just tested "Fade Out" function in "Offline" menu.

I would like to perform a fade out at the end of my sample but fade out is performed only from the beginning. (ok for fade in)

Do I miss something?

Best Regards
doyeuxyvan
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 6:50 am

Re: CUBASE AUDIO FALCON - OFFLINE MENU - FADE OUT FUNCTION

Postby mal7921 » Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:55 pm

First off, hello and welcome to the forum.

The most obvious question to ask is do you have the manual? If not it is available for download here and covers most of the audio editing functions.

Offline edits work on a sample file and require a process length to be entered, if no process length is entered then the process will start from the beginning of the file.

The description is in the PDF in the link and starts on page 21 with details of entering an offset (To stop all the file being processed) on page 24, there is a more detailed description of the audio editing functions towards the end of the file from page 513.

Hope this helps
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm, STacy, Mega ST2
Atari STe, Mega STE, ST Book
Atari TT030, with 2GB Hard drive
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive
Atari Megafile 44

The website and the Atari bit
User avatar
mal7921
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:44 am
Location: Huddersfield, U.K.

Re: CUBASE AUDIO FALCON - OFFLINE MENU - FADE OUT FUNCTION

Postby doyeuxyvan » Tue Apr 10, 2012 11:03 pm

Yes I have the manual.

But if you choose an offset close to the end of file to be processed, the fade out will create a new file only from the offset that you entered and not from the beginning of the file.

What is the solution?
doyeuxyvan
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 6:50 am

Re: CUBASE AUDIO FALCON - OFFLINE MENU - FADE OUT FUNCTION

Postby mal7921 » Tue Apr 10, 2012 11:14 pm

The process is to select the file and the process required (In your case a fade out), then set the offset which can either be SMPTE format or a number of samples, then the length of the process.

So if you have a file which is (For example) 65536 samples long and is 1 minute in length and you want to fade the last 10 seconds, your offset would either be 54613 samples or 0:00:50:00 in SMPTE. The process length would then be the remainder, or 10923 samples or 0:00:10:00 in SMPTE.

This is how it should work, it is possible that there is a bug in the system, in which case something like Zero-X may be a better bet, plus it can load and save Cubase Audio format files. Edits are none destructive (Until you save them of course) and you can preview them before you save the file.

Hope that helps
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm, STacy, Mega ST2
Atari STe, Mega STE, ST Book
Atari TT030, with 2GB Hard drive
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive
Atari Megafile 44

The website and the Atari bit
User avatar
mal7921
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:44 am
Location: Huddersfield, U.K.

Re: CUBASE AUDIO FALCON - OFFLINE MENU - FADE OUT FUNCTION

Postby doyeuxyvan » Tue Apr 10, 2012 11:23 pm

My problem is that it creates a new file of 10923 samples (only the fade out) and drops the 54613 first samples. (maybe I forget something?)
doyeuxyvan
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 6:50 am

Re: CUBASE AUDIO FALCON - OFFLINE MENU - FADE OUT FUNCTION

Postby mal7921 » Tue Apr 10, 2012 11:28 pm

You can specify an output file, my guess is if you don't do this, a new file is created with just the processed audio.

What you could do is create a copy of the audio you want to process and specify the copy as the output file. Is this something you have already tried?
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm, STacy, Mega ST2
Atari STe, Mega STE, ST Book
Atari TT030, with 2GB Hard drive
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive
Atari Megafile 44

The website and the Atari bit
User avatar
mal7921
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:44 am
Location: Huddersfield, U.K.

Re: CUBASE AUDIO FALCON - OFFLINE MENU - FADE OUT FUNCTION

Postby doyeuxyvan » Sun Apr 15, 2012 2:45 pm

I've just done your advice. No success!

The destination file is always smaller than the original with only the fade out part.

Why Steinberg didn't SIMPLY add a "fade offset start" parameter in the "fade in/out" window?
doyeuxyvan
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 6:50 am

Re: CUBASE AUDIO FALCON - OFFLINE MENU - FADE OUT FUNCTION

Postby mal7921 » Fri Apr 20, 2012 10:02 pm

Sorry for the delay in replying, we've been knocked out by the flu here, so things are just getting back to normal.

I think that what you are suggesting was in part the idea behind the interface structure, but unfortunately bugs stop it working as intended.

The only workaround I can suggest is using Zero-X to edit the file directly, the version 2 hosted here is Falcon specific and will take advantage of the DSP and any audio hardware you have attached.

Zero-X is available here for the Falcon and can do effects that are beyond Cubase Audio.
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm, STacy, Mega ST2
Atari STe, Mega STE, ST Book
Atari TT030, with 2GB Hard drive
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive
Atari Megafile 44

The website and the Atari bit
User avatar
mal7921
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:44 am
Location: Huddersfield, U.K.

Re: CUBASE AUDIO FALCON - OFFLINE MENU - FADE OUT FUNCTION

Postby xfalcon » Sun Apr 22, 2012 11:59 am

Hi,
there are two other ways to create a fade out.
You can use the mixer map.
Or you can use the tool for creating controller ramps from the toolbox in the audio editor to create a fade out.

--
chris
https://soundcloud.com/xfalcon-dma - Songs - Sounds - Beats
Falcon 030 14 MB +Dayna Port::MegaSt4 +Hydra, Overscan & UltraSatanDisk
User avatar
xfalcon
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 10:46 pm
Location: Germany


Return to Steinberg Cubase Audio Falcon

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron