Atari Music Network | Chiptune & MIDI Music

How to (temporarily) disable Audio in CAF

How to (temporarily) disable Audio in CAF

Postby Feedbaxlow » Mon May 03, 2010 6:13 pm

I just got MCA"s CAF crack up and running last night. It seems pretty stable on mine. It only did one weird thing but it might be because i was playing around with an old Cubase track/piece from the early 90's (on the last remaining Cubase floppy disk in my possession) that's a bit buggy. after fooling around for quite a while it stopped "chasing events" (the curser) and i had to reboot the program.
The only problem really, is the same old problem...running Audio on the Falcon makes it's sluggish and a bit balky.
I used to live eat and breath this program so I remembered there was a command that disabled Audio and reduced the sluggishness. I looked through my original Steinberg CAF manual from end to end but could not find it...then in the middle of the night it came to me~ EUREKA!

You hold down SHIFT and ESC while the CAF program is booting and it brings up a dialog box that asks if you want to "disable Audio entirely?"
say OK; and you will have a much more responsive program... especially "stop" and movements of the transport.


I'm here to get (back to Atari/Midi) away from an all too large and disorienting Nuendo/MAC/Digital Audio setup in the first place.
and go figure...for some reason my Nuendo/G5 Dual 2.5G MHZ chokes and crashes on Midi all the time. Also:
Way too many dang choices, plug-ins, softsynths, sounds, processors, options...I don't seem to enjoy it much.
The Atari is like a hotrod. It does one thing really well...and sorry but Audio isn't one of them!!!
It's about Midi and analog synths (again) for me right now and when the piece is finished it will go back into the digital domain/MAC for finishing and tweaking.
I understand the fun and hobby of Atari for it's own sake...)my wife says I am becoming an "Atari addict"... but i always was!!!) ... i just forgot about it for about 10 years... with all the new stuff around I lost my way for a while and forgot about the fun of stable old, Atari/Cubase.
FB
Feedbaxlow
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 12:56 pm

Re: How to (temporarily) disable Audio in CAF

Postby NCGM » Mon May 03, 2010 9:03 pm

Feedbaxlow wrote:I'm here to get (back to Atari/Midi) away from an all too large and disorienting Nuendo/MAC/Digital Audio setup in the first place.

I understand the fun and hobby of Atari for it's own sake...)my wife says I am becoming an "Atari addict"... but i always was!!!) ... i just forgot about it for about 10 years... with all the new stuff around I lost my way for a while and forgot about the fun of stable old, Atari/Cubase.
FB



Same here and for the same amount of time too. I'm not stupid when it comes to PCs and all that it involves, but whatever....when using them it just makes me feel so unproductive and lethargic. I really regret attempting to move to a PC setup because with my STE, I was getting better all the time with each passing day. Now I am finding it very hard to recover the time lost and the momentum, to get back to writing and recording again. One thing is for sure...I WILL do it!
NCGM
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 12:02 pm
Location: Bradford, U.K.


Return to Steinberg Cubase Audio Falcon

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron