Atari Music Network | Chiptune & MIDI Music

ZeroX installation

ZeroX installation

Postby SolarRichT » Mon Aug 15, 2011 4:58 pm

Hi, im new to this forum. Been making music on cubase for donkeys years, and now experimenting with Sample editors as ive bought a sampler. Anyone else had probs installing ZeroX on an STe? Downloaded the crack from this site, but keeps asking me for serial number. Serched the Web and it seems you cant buy a legit copy anymore, but can download a demo version. Of course you cant save anything! Any help getting this working would be great, as this seems like an amazing piece of software.
SolarRichT
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 4:44 pm

ZeroX installation

Postby mal7921 » Mon Aug 15, 2011 5:28 pm

Have you downloaded the 1.5 crack for the st series? The version 2 that is hosted here is only for the Falcon and while it may stet up, it may well crash when loaded or any functions requiring either the 030 or the dsp are accessed.
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm, STacy, Mega ST2
Atari STe, Mega STE, ST Book
Atari TT030, with 2GB Hard drive
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive
Atari Megafile 44

The website and the Atari bit
User avatar
mal7921
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:44 am
Location: Huddersfield, U.K.

Re: ZeroX installation

Postby SolarRichT » Mon Aug 15, 2011 6:16 pm

Hi, thanks for the reply. Yes i downloaded the 1.51 version and tried running the ZERO_XST.PRG file and it says "no key or wrong serial number... Goodbye". I try using the install prg but it wants a serial number. Maybe the hack only works on falcon? Or im missing something!
SolarRichT
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 4:44 pm

ZeroX installation

Postby mal7921 » Mon Aug 15, 2011 8:22 pm

I think there is another prg file in there, that is the one to run as I remember. If I get chance tonigh I'll have a look as I did try it out on nostalgia on the mac before I uploaded it to the site.

Trouble is I'm in Norfolk for 2 weeks after tomorrow with no access to computers :-S


---
- Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm, STacy, Mega ST2
Atari STe, Mega STE, ST Book
Atari TT030, with 2GB Hard drive
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive
Atari Megafile 44

The website and the Atari bit
User avatar
mal7921
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:44 am
Location: Huddersfield, U.K.

Re: ZeroX installation

Postby SolarRichT » Mon Aug 15, 2011 11:10 pm

Just opened the Zero X folder and yes theres a file called ZERO_X.PRG, but crashes when i run it (3 bombs). I thought this was for the falcon. Thanx for help tho! If you suss it out in few weeks time, please post results. :D
SolarRichT
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 4:44 pm

Re: ZeroX installation

Postby ioguie » Tue Aug 16, 2011 5:37 pm

I think I saw in the readme or sales literature that 2.0+ was designed for use on the Falcon...

I got one of the various demo versions (1.51?) running on my TT and my STe last year, but it was not stable on either. The graphics were not drawn properly... one pixel too high or low... it got worse and worse until the program just crashed.

Tried using the SMDI support via the TT's SCSI port and it seemed to maybe work one direction but not the other. Again, after a bit of messing around with samples the program just crashed.

From my experience, if you're looking for a reliable sample editor you might want to look elsewhere... but then your experience might be different! It seems every Atari computer these days is its own unique snowflake... :roll:
ioguie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 10:06 pm

ZeroX installation

Postby mal7921 » Tue Aug 16, 2011 6:53 pm

Avalon will work fine on the st series, just not on the tt or falcon, and has most of the functions that zero x has for editing, plus a few unique features too.

That is also in the warez section with zero x
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm, STacy, Mega ST2
Atari STe, Mega STE, ST Book
Atari TT030, with 2GB Hard drive
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive
Atari Megafile 44

The website and the Atari bit
User avatar
mal7921
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:44 am
Location: Huddersfield, U.K.

Re: ZeroX installation

Postby SolarRichT » Tue Aug 16, 2011 8:56 pm

Thanks for checking it out. Ironic thing is the demo i downloaded from the ZeroX website works fine but wont save! Pants. Avalon it is then, that seems to work ok so far and has SCSI support for my sampler. Maybe ill try redownloading it in case the file was corrupted. Or ill have to get a Falcon! Hmmm...
SolarRichT
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 4:44 pm

Re: ZeroX installation

Postby SolarRichT » Fri Aug 19, 2011 10:59 pm

Ok, just re-downloaded the ZeroX 1.5 version and bunged it on a floppy and hey presto it works fine! Excellent, got some music making to do. Thanks! :-)
SolarRichT
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 4:44 pm

ZeroX installation

Postby mal7921 » Sat Aug 20, 2011 8:17 pm

Good to hear your working at last :-)

Hopefully I'll be back online a bit more and doing some music soon, though in part this depends on how my back holds out (long story).

Have fun with it all :-)


---
- Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm, STacy, Mega ST2
Atari STe, Mega STE, ST Book
Atari TT030, with 2GB Hard drive
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive
Atari Megafile 44

The website and the Atari bit
User avatar
mal7921
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:44 am
Location: Huddersfield, U.K.

Re: ZeroX installation

Postby SolarRichT » Mon Sep 05, 2011 11:01 pm

Been having more trouble booting ZeroX on my STe both from floppy & Hard Disk.
Think ive discovered the problem is when ive got my Steinberg MIDEX plugged in with a cubase dongle in it. Not sure if its the midex or dongle causing ZeroX not to boot tho. Seems to think its the wrong key. Glad ive sussed it. Anyone else had this problem?
SolarRichT
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 4:44 pm

Re: ZeroX installation

Postby SolarRichT » Mon Sep 05, 2011 11:04 pm

Might be worth noting this solution on the download section. Havent tried it with the Falcon yet...
SolarRichT
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 4:44 pm

Re: ZeroX installation

Postby mal7921 » Wed Sep 07, 2011 7:49 pm

Thank you for the info, I'll make a note to get the page updated. As for the Falcon version, that works well from the hard drive, I have version 2 installed on both my Falcons, though I've only tested 1.5 in an emulator straight from an MSA file.
The collection:

Atari 260ST, 520ST, 520ST+, 520STfm, STacy, Mega ST2
Atari STe, Mega STE, ST Book
Atari TT030, with 2GB Hard drive
Atari Falcon, 14MB, 40GB IDE drive
Atari Megafile 44

The website and the Atari bit
User avatar
mal7921
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:44 am
Location: Huddersfield, U.K.

Re: ZeroX installation

Postby DouglKing » Mon Dec 02, 2013 7:23 am

SolarRichT wrote:Hi, im new to this forum. Been making solar panels on cubase for donkeys years, and now experimenting with Sample editors as ive bought a sampler. Anyone else had probs installing ZeroX on an STe? Downloaded the crack from this site, but keeps asking me for serial number. Serched the Web and it seems you cant buy a legit copy anymore, but can download a demo version. Of course you cant save anything! Any help getting this working would be great, as this seems like an amazing piece of software.

Hello friend I know thread is bit old but have you got the Zerox installation? I am searching for it for a while so can you help me out.
DouglKing
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 1:13 pm


Return to Software Samplers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests